American ‘candy’!

As I faced the possibility this summer that our American adventure might be coming to an end, it suddenly struck me that I hadn’t fully explored the wealth of American candy out there. As you can see from the photo below, not all American candy is unfamiliar to the British eye. Both countries have access to Mars products like Snickers, Twix and MnMs, and I’ve definitely come across Reese’s cups in the UK. But look closely and you’ll see that American Milky Ways don’t look quite the same as British ones, and then there’s the puzzle of the intriguingly named 3 Musketeers…

IMG_0786

So for the good cause of this blog, I carried out some research into all the chocolate that was unfamiliar to me. I may have to wait a few months for my waistline to recover before I repeat the experiment for non-chocolate candy (or as we say in the UK, sweets)! Anyway, while I’m sure I’ve missed plenty, the preliminary results are now in. I now have a good idea what the different sorts of candy are, and which I would walk to the store to buy in the event of a sugar crisis. In other words, I’ve tasted a variety of Hersheys and other products, and scored them (highly subjectively) out of 5.

Firstly, I can report that, in fact:

  • US Milky Ways are actually like Mars Bars (I’d give them 4/5).
  • And the 3 Musketeers bars are, in a pleasantly surprising way, what UK milky ways used to be like in the 80s/early 90s (these score a perfect 5/5, partly for the nostalgia value).

Another one that made me nostalgic was the Heath bar, which I discovered is like the UK’s dime bar! Toffee in the US is pretty much always hard. Unfortunately this is Hershey’s – I don’t like the after-taste of their chocolate – so I can only score it 2/5.

The York Peppermint Patty is famous from Charlie Brown cartoons. It’s pretty good, not too sweet, and comes in mini or standard sizes. 5/5

There are a few brands that come in boxes, and seem to have been popular cinema snacks:

  •  Milk duds – not at all what I expected from the name. These are like the chocolate covered toffee you get in a tub of Quality street. After a while all the chewing gets tiring (2/5).
  • Junior mints – nice, small chocolate covered mint creams. Pleasant, but not much to write home about (4/5).
IMG_0789
These were devoured before I remembered to take photos…

As you might know, there’s a wealth of peanut themed sweets in the US, so I thought I’d give them their own section. Here’s my observations so far:

  • Reese’s Cups – I always loved these when I could get them in the UK. Chocolate over peanut butter cream – how can you go wrong? In the US they don’t just come in the original sized cups, but also in a large cup, and as mini-cups (eat a whole bag of these and you’ll feel very sick). Sometimes you can find them in dark chocolate. At Halloween they made pumpkin shaped cups, and for Valentines they were heart-shaped (tasty and versatile, always a good bet – 5/5).
  • Reese’s Nutrageous bar – might be my favourite. A bar of peanut butter cream plus actual peanuts, covered in chocolate (5/5).
  • Reese’s pieces – these look like MnMs, but are disappointing. They could actually do with some chocolate as they’re just sweet peanut cream in sweet candy shells (2/5)
  • Butterfinger – again, these come in regular and mini, and they recently brought out a cup version to compete with Reese’s. These remind me slightly of the old peanut cracknell that used to be in Quality Street, but I’m not sure this works so well in a large size (4/5 – mainly for the minis)
  • Baby Ruth – Seemed to me to be basically just like a Snickers, which is not bad (4/5)
  • Mr. Good bar – this is just a Hershey bar with peanuts, and, as I’ve mentioned, I’m not a fan of Hershey’s chocolate (1/5)
  • Payday – salty peanuts in a sweet corn syrup paste. This was actually rather unpleasant. (zero)
IMG_0788
I’m not sure what it is the York peppermint patty has 70% less fat than – a stick of butter?

Happily, as you might know if you’re a regular reader of my blog, our American adventure did not come to an end this autumn – our new visas were approved – so I still have time to try more American candy! There’s always plenty to choose from, including the seasonal treats surrounding Valentines Day, Easter, and Halloween. So if you know of an American candy bar I’ve not tried yet, do let me know. Which are your favourites?

11 thoughts on “American ‘candy’!

  1. I’m going to have to give the 3 Musketeers a try, I’m pretty sure we have those in Canada too. Have you tried the Hersey’s Cookies n Cream bar? I hate Hershey’s chocolate but those are the exception, probably no actual chocolate in it though! Skor is good too, very much like a dime bar and the perfect topping for ice cream.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is valuable scientific research!

    Reese’s PB cups definitely go all in on the holiday branding. Their Christmas tree shapes tend to leave something to be desired though…

    Have you tried a 5th Avenue candy bar? It’s crunchy peanut butter stuff inside, covered in chocolate. It is, unfortunately, made by Hershey’s – but perhaps the peanut flavor will overcome the chocolate’s failings?

    Or Twix (made by the Mars Co.) – which is a long thin cookie, covered in caramel and chocolate. Kit Kats as well (produced by Nestle), which are crispy wafers with chocolate in between the layers and as a casing.

    Now I’m having serious sugar cravings…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the suggestions! I haven’t seen 5th Avenue anywhere, but will keep looking – sounds good. We have Twix and Kit Kat in the UK, which is why they didn’t make it into the blog, but they are two of my all time favourites. Twix also makes a really good ice cream bar as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. There are a lot of American citizens living near us, because we’re near Menwith Hill. So there are plenty of American sweets and chocolates available locally too. But it’s hard to find a Brit (including me) who has a good words to say for them – ‘too fatty and sweet’ we wail. In fact my daughter and friends, when young enough to go Trick or Treating actually used to discard any American sweets that came their way. And if a ten year old discards free sweets, something’s seriously wrong 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment